Monday, May 20, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeAshesAustralia Test squad for 2023 WTC Final & Ashes

Australia Test squad for 2023 WTC Final & Ashes



Last Updated on 12 months by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: Australia Test squad for 2023 WTC Final & Ashes | Who made the Australia squad for the 2023 WTC Final & Ashes?

Australia have announced a 17-man Test squad for the 2023 World Test Championship (WTC) Final against India and first two Ashes Tests against England. Pat Cummins is back as captain after missing the last two Tests against India due to family reasons, while Matthew Renshaw has also been named after impressing for Australia A recently in New Zealand.

Australia Test squad: WTC Final & first two Ashes Tests

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, David Warner

Mitchell Marsh has been included in the squad as cover for Cameron Green ahead of the likes of Aaron Hardie. Also unlucky to miss out was Cameron Bancroft, who hit the most runs in the recently completed 2022/23 Sheffield Shield season. David Warner has been picked, with the selectors showing faith in the veteran opener who has struggled for form over the past couple of years.

“Marcus (Harris), Josh (Inglis, reserve keeper) and Mitch (Marsh) return to the squad and will provide valuable depth and flexibility within their respective skillsets,” said national selection panel chair George Bailey.

“We see value in revisiting the squad following the second Ashes Test given the short turnaround between the WTC Final and the first Ashes Test, along with the length of the tour.”

The WTC Final will be played at The Oval in London from 7 June to 11 June. The Ashes begins five days later at Edgbaston, the venue where Steve Smith made a superb return to Test cricket back in 2019.

Australia’s possible XI for WTC Final against India: 1. David Warner, 2. Usman Khawaja, 3. Marnus Labuschagne, 4. Steve Smith, 5. Travis Head, 6. Cameron Green, 7. Alex Carey (wk), 8. Mitchell Starc, 9. Pat Cummins (c), 10. Nathan Lyon, 11. Josh Hazlewood

Charbel Coorey
Charbel Coorey
Charbel is the owner & founder of, based in Sydney, Australia. He started the website to fulfill his love for the game of cricket. Charbel has also been featured on other publications including OP India, Times of India, and The Roar, among others. For any story tips or questions, you can contact Charbel at

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.