Thursday, May 30, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeAustraliaAustralia Test squad for series against West Indies

Australia Test squad for series against West Indies



Last Updated on 2 years by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: Australia Test squad for series against West Indies | Australia name squad for Test series against West Indies

After a plethora of T20 cricket, including a disappointing T20 World Cup campaign, Australia’s Test season is set to begin. The world’s number one ranked side have named their 13-man squad for the upcoming Test series against West Indies, which begins on November 30 in Perth.

Australia Test squad vs West Indies

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner.

Marcus Harris has made the squad after a strong start to the Sheffield Shield season. The left-hander has struck 287 runs in three matches at an average of 57.40. However, he is unlikely to feature with David Warner and Usman Khawaja expected to open.

Ashes cult hero Scott Boland has also been included in the squad, but Australia may go with Mitchell Starc for the left-arm angle. Also, with Cameron Green in the side to offer another seam option, it offers Australia the flexibility to play a strong spin option in Nathan Lyon.

Pat Cummins will lead in Australia’s first home Test since the successful Ashes series last year.

Possible XI for first Test vs West Indies: 1. David Warner, 2. Usman Khawaja, 3. Marnus Labuschagne, 4. Steve Smith, 5. Travis Head, 6. Cameron Green, 7. Alex Carey (wk), 8. Pat Cummins (c), 9. Mitchell Starc, 10. Nathan Lyon, 11. Josh Hazlewood

ALSO READ: 5 reasons why Australia crowds were low in the T20 World Cup

Cricket News: Pat Cummins aces first major test as Australia captain | Cummins leads Australia to 1-0 Test series win in Pakistan
Cricket News: Pat Cummins led Australia to an excellent 1-0 series win in Pakistan earlier in 2022.

Australia vs West Indies 2022 Test Series Schedule

  • 1st Test: November 30-December 4, Optus Stadium, Perth.
  • 2nd Test: December 8-12, Adelaide Oval.

Following the second Test, Australia will embark on a three-match Test series against South Africa that begins on Decmber 17 at the Gabba. Then, Australia will face the Proteas in the Boxing Day Test at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, followed by the New Year’s Test in Sydney on January 4th, 2023.

Charbel Coorey
Charbel Coorey
Charbel is the owner & founder of, based in Sydney, Australia. He started the website to fulfill his love for the game of cricket. Charbel has been featured on other publications including OP India, Times of India, and The Roar, among others. He is also a keen fantasy sports player. Charbel has also had the privilege of interviewing cricketers on the CricBlog TV YouTube channel, including James Neesham, Rassie van der Dussen, Andrew Tye, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat and Saurabh Netravalkar: For any story tips or questions, you can contact Charbel at

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.