Tuesday, May 28, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeAustraliaAustralia tour of New Zealand schedule 2024

Australia tour of New Zealand schedule 2024



Last Updated on 11 months by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: Australia tour of New Zealand schedule 2024 | Australia to tour New Zealand for T20Is and Tests in early 2024

For the first time since 2016, Australia will play Test cricket in New Zealand.

The tour, pencilled in for February and March 2024, will start with a T20I in Wellington on February 21. The next two games of the series will be in Auckland on February 23 and February 25 respectively. These matches will give shape to the two teams ahead of the ICC Men’s T20I World Cup in the United States of America (USA) and West Indies (WI) later that year.

The two Tests will be played in Wellington and Christchurch respectively. The first Test will last from February 29-March 4, followed by the second match, scheduled for March 8-12. This Test series will be Australia’s first assignment after the home summer that will round off in January.

Veteran opener David Warner has revealed plans to bring curtains down on his red-ball career after the SCG Test against Pakistan. The New Zealand series could see a new full-time opener for the Australians, which will be a test against a potent Black Caps attack.

Australia had whitewashed New Zealand 2-0 during their last tour to the country eight years ago. They played under the captaincy of Steven Smith back then and they emerged victorious in the first Test by an innings and 52 runs. They then won the second game by seven wickets as Adam Voges was named the Man of the Series for his splendid performances with the bat.

Australia has dominated New Zealand in Tests both home and away. The Kiwis have won only eight games out of the 60 between the teams.

Australia has emerged victorious in 34 instances whereas 18 matches have resulted in a draw.

Australia 2024 tour of New Zealand schedule

First T20I: Wellington, February 21

Second T20I: Auckland, February 23

Third T20I: Auckland, February 25

First Test: Wellington, February 29-March 4

Second Test: Christchurch, March 8-12

Tarkesh Jha
Tarkesh Jhahttps://twitter.com/jha_tarkesh
Tarkesh is a passionate cricket fan from India. He specialises in reporting on news from around the cricketing world as well as putting together opinion pieces. You can connect with Tarkesh on Twitter (X) at: https://twitter.com/jha_tarkesh

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.