Sunday, May 19, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeCricBlogList of biggest wins in ODIs (by runs)

List of biggest wins in ODIs (by runs)



Last Updated on 11 months by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: List of biggest wins in ODIs (by runs) | What is the biggest win ever in One Day Internationals (ODIs)?

In January 2023, India won the third game of their One Day International (ODI) series against Sri Lanka by 317 runs to set the record for the biggest victory by the margin of runs at Thirvananthpuram on Sunday. That record was nearly broken a mere five months later.

On that note, Cricblog takes a look at five of the most prominent wins by this criterion in the history of ODIs.

Biggest wins by runs in ODIs

5: South Africa – 272 runs v Zimbabwe

Just a few months prior to the aforementioned Sri Lankan mauling, South Africa had handed a similar embarrassing defeat to the visiting Zimbabwean unit. Playing at Benoni, middle-order batsmen Jean-Paul Dumminy and Ab de Villiers hammered 129 and 109 runs respectively to help the Proteas get to 399 runs. Following that, their bowling unit put forth a collective impressive performance as Albie Morkel, Wayne Parnell and Johan Botha picked two wickets each along with Rusty Theron’s three scalps to bowl out Zimbabwe for merely 127 runs in 29 overs.

4: Australia – 275 runs v Afghanistan

Australia were relentless in their victorious campaign in the 2015 ODI World Cup. En route to the knockouts, they defeated Afghanistan by a whopping margin of 275 runs in one of the group stage matches.

David Warner scored 178 runs along with Steven Smith and Glenn Maxwell’s valuable contributions of 95 and 88 runs respectively to take the Aussies to 417 runs. Mitchell Johnson picked a four-wicket haul coupled with Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood’s two wickets each to round off the Afghan innings for merely 142 runs in 37.3 overs.

3: New Zealand – 290 runs v Ireland

The Kiwis had inflicted an ignominy on Ireland at Aberdeen in July 2008 as they defeated them by 290 runs. Openers James Marshall and Brendon McCullum scored 161 and 166 runs respectively as they put up an opening partnership of 274 runs in just 42.2 overs.

Then, Ross Taylor came in at number three to notch 59 off 24 deliveries to take New Zealand to 402 runs in 50 overs. They hit 128 runs in the last 46 deliveries and then the bowling attack came together to end the Irish innings for only 112 runs in 28.4 overs. Tim Southee and Michael Mason scalped three wickets each as Irish number 10 Peter Connell top-scored with 22 runs in a disappointing outing.

2: Zimbabwe – 304 runs v USA

Zimbabwe enjoyed a magnificent group stage of the 2023 ODI World Cup Qualifier. They won all four of their matches, including the big scalp of West Indies. They also dismantled USA by posting 408/6 – their first 400+ in ODIs – and then rolling them for just 104 to seal the second-biggest ever win in ODIs in terms of runs.

Sean Williams led the way with a superb 101-ball 174, with magnificent support from Sikandar Raza (48 off 27) and Ryan Burl (47 off 16). In response, USA had no response, falling to 44/5 at the ten-over mark courtesy of loose strokeplay and two horror run outs.

1: India – 317 runs v Sri Lanka

Virat Kohli’s return to form bodes well for team India as his 166 runs coupled with Shubman Gill’s 116 steered the team to 390 runs in the first innings. Lead Lankan bowlers Kasun Rajitha and Lahiru Kumara conceded 81 and 87 runs respectively in their 10 overs each as the home side were arguably flawless throughout their innings.

They doubled it up by bowling out Sri Lanka for 77 runs as Mohammed Siraj took four wickets and Mohammed Shami and Kuldeep Yadav took two scalps each to culminate an absolutely authoritative series win for the Indians.

Tarkesh Jha
Tarkesh Jha
Tarkesh is a passionate cricket fan from India. He specialises in reporting on news from around the cricketing world as well as putting together opinion pieces. You can connect with Tarkesh on Twitter (X) at:

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.