Sunday, May 19, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeCricBlogList of highest individual scores in IPL playoffs

List of highest individual scores in IPL playoffs



Last Updated on 12 months by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: List of highest individual scores in IPL playoffs | What is the highest individual score in IPL playoffs?

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been blessed with superb innings in playoffs matches. 2023 was no different as Shubman Gill played a superb knock against Mumbai Indians (MI) in the second Qualifier, described by Gujarat Titans (GT) skipper Hardik Pandya as “one of the finest innings I have seen in a T20 game.”

Where does Shubman’s effort rank among other great performances in IPL playoffs? Here is a list of the top three highest individual scores at this stage of a season.

Top 3 highest individual scores in IPL playoffs

1. Shubman Gill: 129 (60) vs Mumbai Indians, IPL 2023 Qualifier 2

Gill’s innings is indeed the highest-ever score in a playoffs match. His 129 off just 60 balls in the do-or-die qualifier against MI was his third hundred in four matches in IPL 2023, further confirming his status as one of the world’s best young talents.

Gill struck seven fours and smashed an incredible ten sixes in a show of classy brutality that only a few players can perfect. He made GT pay heavily for a dropped catch when he was on 30, going on to lead GT to a mammoth 233/3 – a total that was 62 too many for MI.

2. Virender Sehwag: 122 (58) vs Chennai Super Kings, IPL 2014 Qualifier 2

The last time Punjab Kings (then Kings XI Punjab) made the playoffs was in 2014. That year, the great Virender Sehwag hammered a memorable 122 off 58 balls at the Wankhede to send Punjab into the final. CSK, who had experience in their ranks in the form of R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Ashish Nehra, had very little answers.

Sehwag hit 20 boundaries in total (12 fours, eight sixes) to lead Punjab to 226. Despite Suresh Raina’s very best efforts with one of the most memorable knocks of all-time, CSK fell short by 24 runs.

3. Shane Watson: 117* (57) vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL 2018 Final

2018 was an emotional year for all involved with CSK. The franchise returned to action after two years out, and it was a successful comeback as they lifted the coveted IPL trophy.

At the heart of it was brilliant all-rounder Shane Watson. In pursuit of Sunrisers Hyderabad’s competitive 178 in the pressure of a final, Watson switched into beast mode, hammering 117* off just 57 balls to see CSK to the target with a comfortable nine balls to spare.

It was a great show of strategy too by Watson, who saw Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rashid Khan out and then attacked the other bowlers.

Charbel Coorey
Charbel Coorey
Charbel is the owner & founder of, based in Sydney, Australia. He started the website to fulfill his love for the game of cricket. Charbel has also been featured on other publications including OP India, Times of India, and The Roar, among others. For any story tips or questions, you can contact Charbel at

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.