Sunday, May 19, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeBBLList of the richest T20 leagues in the world

List of the richest T20 leagues in the world



Last Updated on 11 months by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: List of the richest T20 leagues in the world 2023 | Which is the richest T20 league after the IPL?

T20 leagues have taken the cricket world by storm. Not many would have thought that the first T20, played between Durham and Nottinghamshire in 2003, would be the start of a revolution that would transform the cricketing calendar and how the sport would be played.

Fast forward to 2023, and even Test cricket is played in ultra-attacking style. Many cricketers play various T20 leagues around the world, with huge paypackets that international boards often can’t match. The numbers below are astounding in the top six richest T20 leagues in the world.

Top 6 richest T20 leagues in the world

6. Vitality Blast

The winner of the Vitality Blast receives approx. US$222,495 in prize money. The tournament is part of the big broadcast deal the England and Wales Cricket Board landed for 2020-2024 worth approximately US$1.39 billion. This deal includes internationals.

5. Big Bash League (BBL)

Foxtel and Channel 7 confirmed a seven-year, AU$1.5 billion extension deal in early 2023, even with the BBL set to have a fewer number of matches. This means the BBL’s broadcast value per match increases, but the overall deal includes the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) and internationals as well.

The tournament winner receives AU$500,000 (approx. US$334,000).

4. Pakistan Super League (PSL)

The media rights value per PSL match is approximately US$297,000 per match. In December 2021, the PSL signed a two-year deal worth US$24 million, a 50% increase on the previous cycle. With the new media rights cycle approaching, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) will be looking to continuously increase the tournament’s brand value, which stood at US$240 million at the time of the previous cycle.

Also, premier sponsor HBL paid US$14.3 million to renew their contract back in 2021. The PCB retains 5%, with the rest going to the franchises.

In terms of prize money, the winner receives approx. US$450,000.

3. Caribbean Premier League (CPL)

Every game of the CPL is an unforgettable party. Fans dance and cheer in the stands as some of the world’s best T20 cricketers do their thing. Viewers also enjoy the league, with a combined digital and broadcast viewership of 721.8 million in 2022, soon after the league delivered US$250 million in media exposure.

Sponsorship value in the 2022 season was US$66,250,232, with the league delivering US$134,686,551 in direct economic impact on the Caribbean, i.e. jobs, hotel rooms, tourism and more.

The winner receives US$1 million in prize money, with the runner up receiving a solid $600,000. Overall prize money totals US$2.16 million.

2. SA20

South Africa’s SA20 enjoyed a magnificent first season in 2023. Media giant Viacom18 bought the media rights for an undisclosed fee, but reportedly just below Cricket South Africa’s asking price of US$100 million for ten years. Also, Supersport own a 30% share in the tournament.

The total prize money totalled over $US4 million. The winner, Sunrisers Eastern Cape, received $2 million in prize money with runners up Pretoria Capitals receiving $1 million.

1. Indian Premier League (IPL)

It comes as no surprise that the IPL comes in at number one. According to Statista, the value of the league skyrocketed to US$8.4 billion in 2022, with the mammoth media rights and two new teams contributing significantly to an increase in value post the pandemic.

Also, after the 2022 mega auction, the 234 participating players were to be paid a whopping $116,339,000 combined. With fans rating the 2023 season the best ever in IPL history, the quality and viewership is only improving, increasing the potential for higher player earnings.

The winning team receives US$2.41 million in prize money. The runner up receives US$1.57 million, followed by US$846,000 for third and fourth.

Charbel Coorey
Charbel Coorey
Charbel is the owner & founder of, based in Sydney, Australia. He started the website to fulfill his love for the game of cricket. Charbel has also been featured on other publications including OP India, Times of India, and The Roar, among others. For any story tips or questions, you can contact Charbel at

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.