Thursday, May 30, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeCricBlogRevealed: Who are the five teams in WIPL 2023?

Revealed: Who are the five teams in WIPL 2023?



Last Updated on 1 year by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: Revealed: Who are the five teams in WIPL 2023? | The five teams have been confirmed for the first season of WIPL

Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Delhi and Lucknow are the five teams for the inaugural season of the Women’s Indian Premier League.

In a historic day for women’s cricket, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) received a total bid of INR4,669.99 crores (approx. US$572.46m) for the five teams. This is more than the total figure for the men’s IPL in 2008.

Five teams confirmed for first season of WIPL

Below is the list of the successful bidders for WIPL 2023:

Successful bidderTeam/CityAmount
Adani Sportsline Pvt. LtdAhmedabadINR 1289 crores (approx. US$158m)
Indiawin Sports Pvt. LtdMumbaiINR 912 crores (approx. US$111.79m)
Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. LtdBengaluruINR 901 crores (approx. US$110.45m)
JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. LtdDelhiINR 810 crores (approx. US$99.29m)
Capri Global Holdings Pvt. LtdLucknowINR 757 crores (approx. US$92.79m)

Reactions to a record-breaking day for women’s cricket

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah tweeted, “Today is a historic day in cricket as the bidding for teams of inaugural #WPL broke the records of the inaugural Men’s IPL in 2008! Congratulations to the winners as we garnered Rs.4669.99 Cr in total bid.”

“This marks the beginning of a revolution in women’s cricket and paves the way for a transformative journey ahead not only for our women cricketers but for the entire sports fraternity. The #WPL would bring necessary reforms in women’s cricket and would ensure an all-encompassing ecosystem that benefits each and every stakeholder.”

“The @BCCI has named the league – Women’s Premier League (WPL). Let the journey begin….”

Fans and cricketers have taken to Twitter to react to the news.

WIPL 2023 is likely to be played from March 4 to 26.

Charbel Coorey
Charbel Coorey
Charbel is the owner & founder of, based in Sydney, Australia. He started the website to fulfill his love for the game of cricket. Charbel has been featured on other publications including OP India, Times of India, and The Roar, among others. He is also a keen fantasy sports player. Charbel has also had the privilege of interviewing cricketers on the CricBlog TV YouTube channel, including James Neesham, Rassie van der Dussen, Andrew Tye, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat and Saurabh Netravalkar: For any story tips or questions, you can contact Charbel at

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.