Tuesday, May 28, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeCricBlogWPL 2023 Final Twitter reactions: MI seal title

WPL 2023 Final Twitter reactions: MI seal title



Last Updated on 1 year by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: WPL 2023 Final Twitter reactions: MI seal title | MI-W vs DEL-W Twitter reactions: Sciver-Brunt, Mathews seal win

Mumbai Indians (MI) have written another chapter in their wonderful T20 story, with their brilliant women’s team winning the inaugural Women’s Premier League (WPL). Their talent shone through against a spirited Delhi Capitals (DC) side, led by player of the tournament Hayley Mathews’ 3/5 and Nat Sciver-Brunt’s composed 60* off 55 balls.

DC fought hard after Shafali Verma’s controversial dismissal and plunging to the depths of 79/9. Shikha Pandey (27* off 17) and Radha Yadav (27* off 12) gave DC something to bowl at, and they were then right in the game after reducing MI to 23/2 in the fourth over.

Harmanpreet and Sciver-Brunt steadied things, but a Kaur run out threatened to become another deja vu moment. 37 were still required off 23 balls at that point, before Sciver-Brunt and Amelia Kerr’s heorics in the penultimate over ensured MI could seal it comfortably in the final over.

The winning runs sparked jubilant celebrations. MI held their nerve brilliantly at the backend of the tournament after losing two consecutive games, winning both the Eliminator and Final thanks to strong, efficient displays.

WPL 2023 Final Twitter reactions: A big win for Mumbai Indians & women’s cricket

Victory would taste particularly sweet for captain Harmanpreet Kaur. Often left heartbroken after knockout matches in recent years captaining the India team, Kaur, who was excellent throughout the tournament, can now savour this terrific moment.

“Post-match press conferences after knockouts haven’t always been a happy place for Harmanpreet Kaur,” one tweet read. “For a change, here she is with a big smile as the winning captain of the inaugural @wplt20 alongside the trophy.”

The WPL was also a big win for women’s cricket. The game continues to go from strength to strength, and the WPL is just the beginning of what is set to be a very exciting growth period worldwide over the next five years.

Charbel Coorey
Charbel Cooreyhttps://cricblog.net
Charbel is the owner & founder of cricblog.net, based in Sydney, Australia. He started the website to fulfill his love for the game of cricket. Charbel has been featured on other publications including OP India, Times of India, and The Roar, among others. He is also a keen fantasy sports player. Charbel has also had the privilege of interviewing cricketers on the CricBlog TV YouTube channel, including James Neesham, Rassie van der Dussen, Andrew Tye, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat and Saurabh Netravalkar: https://www.youtube.com/@cricblogtv For any story tips or questions, you can contact Charbel at charbelcoorey@cricblog.net.

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.