Wednesday, May 29, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeCricBlogFans slam New Zealand cricket for selecting Scott Kuggeleijn against Australia

Fans slam New Zealand cricket for selecting Scott Kuggeleijn against Australia



Last Updated on 3 months by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: Fans react to New Zealand selecting Scott Kuggeleijn after telling Neil Wagner he won’t be picked

Fans have expressed their disappointment and displeasure after New Zealand selected pace bowler Scott Kuggeleijn for the first Test against Australia. Kuggeleijn was on trial for sexual assault in 2016, which resulted in a hung jury. A retrial then took place in 2017, but many were left angered by his comments and admissions during the process.

Kuggeleijn was picked ahead of Neil Wagner, with the left-arm seamer retiring this week after he was informed he wouldn’t be in the playing XI. This frustrated fans, with Wagner one of New Zealand’s finest bowlers with 260 wickets at 27.57.

Fans express their disappointment after Scott Kuggeleijn was selected in the first Test at Wellington

“A dark cloud over this game I’m afraid,” wrote one fan. “Shouldn’t be here representing his country. Wouldn’t sit well being a team mate either.”

“Who knows what dirt SK has on NZ cricket for this insanity to even occur,” another fan wrote.

Here are some of the reactions during the first day’s play.

The Test against Australia at the Basin Reserve is Kuggeleijn’s second after making his debut against England in 2023. He has also played 18 ODIs and two T20Is for New Zealand.

Charbel Coorey
Charbel Coorey
Charbel is the owner & founder of, based in Sydney, Australia. He started the website to fulfill his love for the game of cricket. Charbel has been featured on other publications including OP India, Times of India, and The Roar, among others. He is also a keen fantasy sports player. Charbel has also had the privilege of interviewing cricketers on the CricBlog TV YouTube channel, including James Neesham, Rassie van der Dussen, Andrew Tye, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat and Saurabh Netravalkar: For any story tips or questions, you can contact Charbel at

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.