Thursday, May 23, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeBBLBBL Final Preview: Maiden title up for grabs for both teams

BBL Final Preview: Maiden title up for grabs for both teams



Last Updated on 6 years by Charbel Coorey

Six weeks of BBL action comes down to this. Two surprise packages in this season’s tournament will contest the BBL07 Final, and we will see a brand new BBL winner.

Key to an Adelaide Strikers win

A CricBlog article you might like

Before the season started, question marks were placed on Adelaide’s ability to deal with the losses of the Ben Dunk, Brad Hodge and Kane Richardson, which left a massive hole in terms of experience. However, they have been superb as a team, with the likes of Alex Carey, Travis Head and the Adelaide bowling attack all having superb seasons.

Rashid Khan and Billy Stanlake will be huge losses, but Adelaide in front of their home crowd will be tough to beat. Adelaide’s batting has been consistent all season, and so has their bowling, but how they cope without Rashid and Stanlake will be key. Ben Laughlin (who indeed got lucky in the final over v Renegades), Peter Siddle and Michael Neser have a big task ahead of them.

Key to a Hobart Hurricanes win

Take advantage of the absence of Rashid Khan and Billy Stanlake.
Hobart’s batting in the semi final, without D’Arcy Short, was simply brilliant, amassing 210 against defending champions Perth. The key for Hobart will be to back up this effort and force Adelaide into panic mode with no Stanlake or Rashid to fall back on.
On the bowling front, I look forward to seeing how Hobart follow up after bowling Perth out for 139.

Predicted Teams:

Adelaide Strikers XI: 1. Alex Carey (wk), 2. Jake Weatherald, 3. Travis Head (c), 4. Colin Ingram, 5. Jonathan Wells, 6. Jake Lehmann, 7. Jono Dean, 8. Michael Neser, 9. Peter Siddle, 10. Ben Laughlin, 11. Liam O’Connor
Hobart Hurricanes XI: 1. D’Arcy Short, 2. Matthew Wade, 3. George Bailey (c), 4. Ben McDermott, 5. Dan Christian, 6. Simon Milenko, 7. Tim Paine (wk), 8. Jofra Archer, 9. Clive Rose, 10. Thomas Rogers, 11. Riley Meredith

Stats and Facts:

  • Neither Adelaide nor Hobart have won the BBL before. This is Adelaide’s first ever appearance in a final.
  • D’Arcy Short (504) and Alex Carey (425) lead the run scoring charts.
  • Head-to-Head: Adelaide 5, Hobart 3. This season, both teams have won one a piece.


Personally, I think Hobart have hit their best form at the right end of the season, and Adelaide will really miss Billy Stanlake and Rashid Khan. 
The form of Matthew Wade in the semi final, with the addition of D’Arcy Short is a tantalising prospect, and might be difficult for Adelaide to deal with. Also, Hobart’s attack was on song against Perth, and Jofra Archer will be the big X Factor. With the big losses for Adelaide in the bowling attack, and Hobart hitting top form, I will pick Hobart Hurricanes to take out the title. 
Another CricBlog article you might like:

Charbel Coorey
Charbel Coorey
Charbel is the owner & founder of, based in Sydney, Australia. He started the website to fulfill his love for the game of cricket. Charbel has also been featured on other publications including OP India, Times of India, and The Roar, among others. For any story tips or questions, you can contact Charbel at

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.