Monday, May 20, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeAdelaide StrikersBBL 2022/23: Squads & possible playing XIs of all teams

BBL 2022/23: Squads & possible playing XIs of all teams



Last Updated on 1 year by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: BBL 12: Squads & possible playing XIs of all teams | All the squads for the BBL 2022/23 season

The new Big Bash League (BBL) season is upon us. The eight franchises have finalised most of their squads, with a few withdrawals due to various reasons such as injury and workload management.

Nevertheless, it is expected to be a closely fought competition. Perth Scorchers are the current champions and look strong once again, but there looks to be a number of other challengers.

BBL 12 squads and possible XIs

With that being said, here is a look at the squads for BBL 12. Also, we predict what the possible XIs may be for each team’s first match.

Adelaide Strikers

Squad: Wes Agar, Cameron Boyce, Alex Carey, Harry Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Ryan Gibson, Travis Head, Adam Hose, Henry Hunt, Thomas Kelly, Rashid Khan, Chris Lynn, Harry Nielsen, Matt Short, Jake Weatherald, Henry Thorton, Peter Siddle

Travis Head and Alex Carey are on Australia Test duty. Chris Lynn will be aiming to make an immediate impact for his new team.

Possible XI for the first match vs Sydney Sixers: 1. Chris Lynn, 2. Matt Short, 3. Jake Weatherald, 4. Harry Nielsen (wk), 5. Ryan Gibson, 6. Colin de Grandhomme, 7. Rashid Khan, 8. Wes Agar, 9. Cameron Boyce, 10. Henry Thorton, 11. Peter Siddle

Brisbane Heat

Squad: Xavier Bartlett, James Bazley, Sam Billings, Max Bryant, Sam Heazlett, Usman Khawaja, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Colin Munro, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson, Matthew Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, Ross Whiteley, Jack Wildermuth, Spencer Johnson, Will Prestwidge

Usman Khawaja and Marnus Labuschagne will be on Test duty.

Possible XI for the first match vs Melbourne Renegades: 1. Colin Munro, 2. Max Bryant, 3. Matthew Renshaw, 4. Sam Heazlett, 5. Sam Billings, 6. Jimmy Peirson (wk), 7. Jack Wildermuth, 8. Michael Neser, 9. Xavier Bartlett, 10. Mark Steketee, 11. Mitchell Swepson

Hobart Hurricanes

Squad: Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Caleb Jewell, Shadab Khan, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Mitch Owen, Joel Paris, Wil Parker, D’Arcy Short, Matthew Wade, Billy Stanlake, Paddy Dooley, Chris Tremain, Mac Wright, Zak Crawley (overseas replacement for Shadab Khan), James Neesham

Faheem Ashraf will be on national duty for Pakistan in the Tests against England. In their first game, the Hurricanes may play four seamers at the MCG, along with spin options Shadab Khan and D’Arcy Short.

Possible XI for the first match vs Melbourne Stars: 1. Matthew Wade (c & wk), 2. Ben McDermott, 3. Caleb Jewell, 4. D’Arcy Short, 5. Tim David, 6. Asif Ali/James Neesham, 7. Shadab Khan, 8. Joel Paris, 9. Nathan Ellis, 10. Riley Meredith, 11. Billy Stanlake

Melbourne Renegades

Squad: Zak Evans, Aaron Finch, Akeal Hosein, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Sam Harper, Mackenzie Harvey, Nic Maddinson (c), Shaun Marsh, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Kane Richardson, Tom Rogers, Will Sutherland, Jon Wells, Jack Prestwidge, Ruwantha Kellapotha, Marcus Harris, Andre Russell (first four matches), Martin Guptill (ten group matches and finals), Peter Handscomb

Liam Livingstone withdrew from BBL 12. Martin Guptill will join the franchise after Andre Russell’s four game stint. Nic Maddinson is the captain. Marcus Harris is in the Australia Test squad.

Possible XI for the first match vs Brisbane Heat: 1. Aaron Finch, 2. Shaun Marsh, 3. Sam Harper (wk), 4. Nic Maddinson (c), 5. Jon Wells, 6. Andre Russell, 7. Will Sutherland, 8. Kane Richardson, 9. Akeal Hosein, 10. Tom Rogers, 11. Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Melbourne Stars

Squad: Trent Boult, Joe Burns, Hilton Cartwright, Joe Clarke, Brody Couch, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Liam Hatcher, Clint Hinchliffe, Nick Larkin, Glenn Maxwell (c), Marcus Stoinis, Beau Webster, Luke Wood, Adam Zampa, Cam McClure

Glenn Maxwell is a chance to miss the entire BBL due to a broken leg.

Possible XI for the first match vs Sydney Thunder: 1. Marcus Stoinis, 2. Joe Clarke (wk), 3. Joe Burns, 4. Nick Larkin, 5. Hilton Cartwright, 6. Beau Webster, 7. Nathan Coulter-Nile, 8. Luke Wood, 9. Trent Boult, 10. Adam Zampa, 11. Clint Hinchliffe

Perth Scorchers

Squad: Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Cooper Connolly, Aaron Hardie, Peter Hatzoglou, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Tymal Mills, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Phil Salt, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Faf du Plessis (first seven matches), Mitchell Marsh (ruled out due to ankle surgery).

Englishman Laurie Evans has had his contract terminated after failing a drug test. Perth Scorchers have replaced him with Faf du Plessis for seven games. Jhye Richardson may miss the early part of the tournament due to a heel problem.

Unfortunately, all-rounder Mitchell Marsh is out of the competition after ankle surgery.

Possible XI for the first match vs Sydney Sixers: 1. Phil Salt, 2. Faf du Plessis, 3. Cameron Bancroft, 4. Josh Inglis (wk), 5. Ashton Turner (c), 6. Aaron Hardie, 7. Ashton Agar, 8. Jhye Richardson, 9. Andrew Tye, 10. Peter Hatzoglou/Tymal Mills, 11. Jason Behrendhorff

Sydney Sixers

Squad: Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Dan Christian, Ben Dwarshuis, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Nathan Lyon, Izharulhaq Naveed, Chris Jordan, Steve O’Keefe, Kurtis Patterson, Josh Philippe, Jordan Silk, James Vince

Sydney Sixers are stacked once again. The likes of Kurtis Patterson may have to wait for their chance.

Possible XI for the first match vs Adelaide Strikers: 1. Josh Philippe (wk), 2. James Vince, 3. Daniel Hughes, 4. Moises Henriques (c), 5. Jordan Silk, 6. Dan Christian, 7. Hayden Kerr, 8. Sean Abbott, 9. Chris Jordan, 10. Ben Dwarshuis, 11. Steve O’Keefe

Sydney Thunder

Squad: Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales, Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Rilee Rossouw, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, David Warner, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Ben Cutting, Usman Qadir, Gurinder Sandhu

David Willey recently withdrew from BBL 12. He has been replaced by Afghan seamer Fazalhaq Farooqi. The left-armer will be available for the first nine matches.

Pakistan legspinner Usman Qadir has joined the franchise. Local legspinner Tanveer Sangha will miss the early part of the season due to a stress fracture injury. David Warner will be on Test duty for the early part of the tournament.

Possible XI for the first match vs Melbourne Stars: 1. Alex Hales, 2. Ben Cutting, 3. Rilee Rossouw, 4. Jason Sangha (c), 5. Alex Ross, 6. Daniel Sams, 7. Matthew Gilkes (wk), 8. Nathan McAndrew, 9. Chris Green, 10. Gurinder Sandhu, 11. Fazalhaq Farooqi/Usman Qadir

The BBL 12 season begins on December 13 with Sydney Thunder taking on Melbourne Stars at Manuka Oval in Canberra.

Charbel Coorey
Charbel Coorey
Charbel is the owner & founder of, based in Sydney, Australia. He started the website to fulfill his love for the game of cricket. Charbel has also been featured on other publications including OP India, Times of India, and The Roar, among others. For any story tips or questions, you can contact Charbel at

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.