Thursday, May 30, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeBBLDetails on all squad changes in BBL 2022/23

Details on all squad changes in BBL 2022/23



Last Updated on 1 year by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: Details on all squad changes in BBL 2022/23 | Will the Australia Test players participate in BBL 12?

Multiple changes are being run amongst all franchises in the Big Bash League (BBL) as players are heading to the newly-formed SA20 as well as the ILT20. However, quite a few high-profile Australian internationals will be joining their sides as the competition is set to enter its business end now. Following are the given details.

BBL 12 squad changes: Will the Australia Test players participate?

Sydney Sixers

Ins: Steven Smith, Nathan Lyon

Outs: Chris Jordan, James Vince, Naveen ul Haq

Table-toppers Sydney Sixers will be losing their three key overseas players, namely Chris Jordan, James Vince and Naveen ul Haq to the ILT20. Vince will be leading the Gulf Giants in the United Arab Emirates (UAE)-based league.

However, the duo of Steven Smith and Nathan Lyon will join the team right from their recently-concluded Test series against South Africa. Smith and Lyon will be adding tremendous pedigree to the side but the two of them have been out T20 action for a while and their adaptability to the format will be under scanner.

Perth Scorchers

Ins: Lance Morris, Ashton Agar

Outs: Faf du Plessis, Adam Lyth

Faf du Plessis will be flying to South Africa to captain the Johannesburg Super Kings (JSK) in the SA20. Pacer Lance Morris will be replacing fast bowler Jhye Richardson who has been sidelined due to a hamstring injury. Adam Lyth will represent the Desert Vipers in the ILT20 whereas Ashton Agar will join the Scorchers’ setup as well.

Melbourne Renegades

Ins: Marcus Harris

Outs: Mujeeb ur Rahman, Akeal Hosein

The Renegades will be stunned by the absence of their spin bowling duo of Mujeeb ur Rahman and Akeal Hosein – both of them who would be flying to the UAE to participate in the ILT20. However, opener Marcus Harris will join them and add further mettle to their batting firepower following Australia’s Test series against South Africa.

Sydney Thunder

Ins: David Warner

Outs: Alex Hales, Rilee Rossouw

The Thunder have a like-to-like replacement for the outgoing Alex Hales in the form of David Warner. However, their middle-order will lose some sheen with the departure of Rilee Rossouw. The South African batsman will be taking part in the SA20 whereas Hales will play in the ILT20.

Adelaide Strikers

Ins: Alex Carey, Travis Head

Outs: Chris Lynn, Rashid Khan

The Strikers will lose their two definite strikers like Chris Lynn and Rashid Khan to the ILT20 and the SA20 respectively. But, their domestic contingent will receive a stimulus by the incomings of Alex Carey and Travis Head. Whilst the batting department could very well make up for Lynn’s departure, the team will have to find a way to deal with Rashid’s departure too.

Hobart Hurricanes

Out: Shadab Khan

Pakistani all-rounder Shadab Khan had a fairly successful season until his injury hampered his further participation in the competition. However, the Hobart Hurricanes will not have any fresh new faces joining the roster.

Brisbane Heat

Ins: Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne

Outs: Sam Billings, Colin Munro

Test specialists Usman Khawaja and Marnus Labuschagne – both of whom are in an imperious run of form presently, will join the Brisbane Heat now as Sam Billings and Colin Munro will be going to the UAE for their respective commitments in the ILT20.

Melbourne Stars

Out: Trent Boult

The bottom-placed Melbourne Stars will have to deal with further complications as bowling spearhead Trent Boult will now represent the MI Emirates in the ILT20. To make matters worse, the Stars do not have any new players joining them for the rest of the campaign.

Tarkesh Jha
Tarkesh Jha
Tarkesh Jha is a media professional and cricket writer who has managed social media content, public relations (PR) and marketing related content for cricketer Ajinkya Rahane and cricket presenter and stand-up comedian Vikram Sathaye. Also, Tarkesh has been featured in some leading publications such as Sportskeeda, Khel Now,, and

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.