Wednesday, May 29, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeAustraliaList of biggest wins by Australia in ODIs

List of biggest wins by Australia in ODIs



Last Updated on 2 years by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: Biggest ODI wins by Australia in ODIs | List of biggest wins by Australia in One Day Internationals (ODIs)

It was a record low crowd for an Australia ODI at the MCG, but the hosts achieved one of their biggest ever victories in the format. The 221-run win sealed a 3-0 series sweep over England, who themselves will travel home with their heads held high after winning the T20 World Cup.

Travis Head (152) and David Warner (106) smashed 269 for the opening wicket in just 38.1 overs after being sent in to bat at a cold and damp MCG. England were then never in the hunt for the mammoth target of 364, crumbling to 142 all-out in 190 deliveries.

Biggest wins in ODIs by Australia

The 221-run win now holds its place among Australia’s biggest by runs in ODIs. Here they are.

275 runs vs Afghanistan, Perth, 2015

Australia were an unstoppable force at home in the 2015 ODI World Cup. Afghanistan, who were playing in their first World Cup, couldn’t cope as Australia smashed 417/6 at the WACA, headlined by 178 (133) by David Warner, 96 (98) by Steve Smith and an incredible 39-ball 88 by Glenn Maxwell.

In response, Afghanistan could only muster 142. The 275-run win remains the second-highest margin of victory in the history of ODIs.

256 runs vs Namibia, Potchefstroom, 2003

The great Glenn McGrath got the better of many world class players over his amazing career. So, what chance did the part-timers of Namibia have against one of the all-time greats? Not much.

After Darren Lehmann hit 28 off the final over to get Australia to 301, McGrath took a World Cup record 7/15 to dismantle the Namibians for 45 in the 2003 World Cup.

232 runs vs Sri Lanka, Adelaide, 1985

A score of 232 was considered a fine total in the 1980s. In this match, Australia won by that very margin after Dean Jones (99* off 77) and Allan Border (118* off 88) took the Sri Lankan attack apart.

In response, only two Sri Lankan players reached double figures in their total of 91. Rod McCurdy took 3/19, while Geoff Lawson finished with incredible figures of 7-5-5-2.

229 runs vs Netherlands, St Kitts, 2007

Australia’s 2007 World Cup campaign is one of the most dominant showings in cricket history. On the run to the title, Ricky Ponting’s team swept aside the Netherlands by 229, headlined by Brad Hodge’s 89-ball 123 and Michael Clarke’s 93* off 85 balls.

Australia racked up 358/5. The Dutch were never in the hunt, succumbing to 129 in 26.5 overs.

224 runs vs Pakistan, Nairobi, 2002

Australia (332/5) embarrassed a strong Pakistan side by 224 runs in the second-match of the 2002 Kenya tri-series. Matthew Hayden (146 off 128 balls) played a blinder, with Pakistan then unable to deal with the opening duo of Glenn McGrath (6-0-11-2) and Jason Gillespie (10-2-22-5).

Waqar Younis’ team fell to 13/4 within seven overs, and were out of the game before they could even get going.

221 runs vs England (D/L method), Melbourne, 2022

It was a low key game, but the result ended with Australia achieving their sixth-biggest win in the history of ODIs. For England, it was their biggest ever defeat.

Australia’s 355/5 is the highest score ever in ODIs at the MCG. It is also their highest against England. David Warner and Travis Head, who put 269 for the opening wicket, became the equal-fastest pair to reach 1,000 partnership runs in ODIs (13 innings).

The other pair to reach the milestone in 13 innings was Roger Twose and Nathan Astle of New Zealand.

Charbel Coorey
Charbel Coorey
Charbel is the owner & founder of, based in Sydney, Australia. He started the website to fulfill his love for the game of cricket. Charbel has been featured on other publications including OP India, Times of India, and The Roar, among others. He is also a keen fantasy sports player. Charbel has also had the privilege of interviewing cricketers on the CricBlog TV YouTube channel, including James Neesham, Rassie van der Dussen, Andrew Tye, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat and Saurabh Netravalkar: For any story tips or questions, you can contact Charbel at

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.