Thursday, May 30, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeAustraliaSA vs AUS schedule - Australia tour of South Africa 2023

SA vs AUS schedule – Australia tour of South Africa 2023



Last Updated on 9 months by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: SA vs AUS schedule – Australia tour of South Africa 2023 | Australia tour of South Africa 2023 series schedule

Australia will tour South Africa in August and September 2023 for eight white-ball matches comprising of three T20Is and five ODIs.

The visit is Australia’s first since February and March 2020. They won the T20I series 2-1 but lost the ODI leg 3-0.

Mitchell Marsh, who was named Australia’s T20I captain, will also lead in the ODIs after Pat Cummins was ruled out with a small fracture in his wrist. The Australians will also be without Mitchell Starc and Steve Smith, who are also managing injuries, along with a number of others who resting after a hard-fought Ashes series.

The three-week long tour promises to be a challenging one against talented Proteas’ white-ball teams.

SA vs AUS 2023 schedule – three T20Is and five ODIs

T20I series:

Kingsmead Durban will host all three T20Is. The last men’s T20I on this ground was back in February 2020. The Proteas fell short by two runs against England in a thrilling, high-scoring match.

The three-match series will serve as preparation for both teams with the next T20 World Cup less than a year away in West Indies and USA.

  • 1st T20I: Wednesday, August 30, Durban (6:00pm local, 2:00am EST Australian time).
  • 2nd T20I: Friday, September 1, Durban (6:00pm local, 2:00am EST Australian time).
  • 3rd T20I: Sunday, September 3, Durban (2:00pm local, 10:00pm EST Australian time).

ODI series:

The first three ODIs will be played at Bloemfontein. South Africa enjoyed success on this ground against Australia back in 2020. They chased the visitors’ 271 with six wickets and nine balls to spare.

Centurion and Johnnesburg will host the final two matches.

  • 1st ODI: Thursday, September 7, Bloemfontein (1:00pm local, 9:00pm EST Australian time).
  • 2nd ODI: Saturday, September 9, Bloemfontein (1:00pm local, 9:00pm EST Australian time).
  • 3rd ODI: Tuesday, September 12, Bloemfontein (1:00pm local, 9:00pm EST Australian time).
  • 4th ODI: Friday, September 15, Centurion (1:00pm local, 9:00pm EST Australian time).
  • 5th ODI: Sunday, September 17, Johannesburg (10:00am local, 6:00pm EST Australian time).

Both teams have aspirations of reaching the semi-finals of the upcoming World Cup. While the showpiece tournament will be held in different conditions in India, the five-match duel will serve as priceless preparation in a time where ODI cricket continues to be squeezed out of an ever-packed calendar.

Charbel Coorey
Charbel Coorey
Charbel is the owner & founder of, based in Sydney, Australia. He started the website to fulfill his love for the game of cricket. Charbel has been featured on other publications including OP India, Times of India, and The Roar, among others. He is also a keen fantasy sports player. Charbel has also had the privilege of interviewing cricketers on the CricBlog TV YouTube channel, including James Neesham, Rassie van der Dussen, Andrew Tye, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat and Saurabh Netravalkar: For any story tips or questions, you can contact Charbel at

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.