Thursday, May 23, 2024


Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeCricBlogWhat is the format of the 2024 men's T20 World Cup?

What is the format of the 2024 men’s T20 World Cup?



Last Updated on 1 year by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: What is the format of the 2024 T20 World Cup? | T20 World Cup 2024 format in West Indies and USA

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has revamped the format for the next edition of the T20 World Cup in 2024. From the coming campaign onwards, the 20 participating teams in the World Cup will be divided into four groups of five teams each.

Then, the top two sides from the four groups will progress to the Super 8. The eight teams will then be segregated into two groups of four teams each. The sides placed in the first two spots in these groups will then head to the semi-finals prior to the final.

T20 World Cup 2024: No more Super 12s

Accordingly, the ICC has decided to do away with the first round and the subsequent Super 12 format that existed in the previous two editions of the tournament in 2021 and 2020 respectively.

The T20 World Cup will be hosted in the Caribbean and the United States of America (USA) in 2024. So, the USA and West Indies have already made their way to the competition. Additionally, the likes of England, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Afghanistan and Bangladesh have sealed their spots in the mega tournament.

The rest of the eight teams will be decided through the process of regional qualifiers. The African, Asian and European regions have been handed two qualification spots each. Further, one country each from the East Asia-Pacific and the American regions will be making it to the T20 World Cup in 2024.

So far, the tournament has taken place eight times. England (2010, 2022) and West Indies (2012, 2016) are the most successful teams of the T20 World Cup, having won the competition twice each. India (2007), Pakistan (2009), Sri Lanka (2014) and Australia (2021) have emerged victorious once each.

The tournament used to be take place a in a rather simpler, group-stage format where 12 teams were divided into four groups of three countries each in 2007, 2009, 2010 and 2012 respectively. In 2014 and 2016, a preliminary round was followed by the Super 10 stage. The Super 12 version was implemented in 2020 and 2021 respectively.

Tarkesh Jha
Tarkesh Jha
Tarkesh is a passionate cricket fan from India. He specialises in reporting on news from around the cricketing world as well as putting together opinion pieces. You can connect with Tarkesh on Twitter (X) at:

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.