Thursday, May 30, 2024

CRICKET BLOG FOR THE FANS, BY THE FANS

Get your fix of cricket news, opinion, Dream11 fantasy cricket predictions, fan-led content & more.

HomeAustraliaCameron Green catch to dismiss Gill in WTC Final: Out or not...

Cameron Green catch to dismiss Gill in WTC Final: Out or not out?

Date:

LATEST STORIES & CRICKET BLOGS

Last Updated on 12 months by Charbel Coorey

Cricket News: Cameron Green catch to dismiss Gill: Out or not out? | Debates rife over Cameron Green catch in WTC 2023 Final

Controversy is never too far away when rivals Australia and India do battle. It made an appearance on the fourth day of the World Test Championship (WTC) Final, where Cameron Green produced a terrific effort at gully off Shubman Gill that third umpire Richard Kettleborough deemed out.

However, was it out? Did any part of the ball touch the ground? Or did Green keep the ball off the ground the entire time? Remember, the soft signal was removed before the final, so it was Kettleborough’s decision – and Kettleborough’s only – to make.

As an Australian fan, my personal opinion is Shubman Gill was hard done by. While Green’s fingers are under the ball, there appears to be a gap between his fingers, with the ball brushing the turf in the process of taking the catch.

But, opinion either side of the argument should be encouraged and debated in civilised manner. And there certainly is plenty of discussion online. Below are some of the key reactions to the decision, which was an important call given Gill and Rohit Sharma started their steep chase of 444 superbly.

ALSO READ: Highest successful run chases in Tests at The Oval

Cameron Green catch in WTC Final: Out or not out?

Arguments in support of the decision:

Cricbuzz journalist and SEN commentator Bharat Sundaresan believes it was the correct decision.

“When it comes to a catch low to the ground, what matters most is if the fielder was in control of the ball & his body & not if the ball has touched a blade of grass post that & it’s clear that Cameron Green was in control of both. Great call from Richard Kettleborough,” he tweeted.

Arguments & reactions against the decision:

Many believe the ball hit the ground as the catch was being completed, and thus should have been given not out.


What is your call? Do you believe the decision was correct or incorrect? Let us know by tweeting @cric_blog.

ALSO READ: Highest successful run chases in Tests at The Oval

Charbel Coorey
Charbel Cooreyhttps://cricblog.net
Charbel is the owner & founder of cricblog.net, based in Sydney, Australia. He started the website to fulfill his love for the game of cricket. Charbel has been featured on other publications including OP India, Times of India, and The Roar, among others. He is also a keen fantasy sports player. Charbel has also had the privilege of interviewing cricketers on the CricBlog TV YouTube channel, including James Neesham, Rassie van der Dussen, Andrew Tye, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat and Saurabh Netravalkar: https://www.youtube.com/@cricblogtv For any story tips or questions, you can contact Charbel at charbelcoorey@cricblog.net.

Read the latest cricket stories and news on CricBlog and bet on your favorite cricket teams at 24betting India sportsbook. All new players get a welcome bonus on the first deposit.

LIVE CRICKET SCORES

FUTURE OF CRICKET